Latest Release

Becoming Marta

by Lorea Canales

Marta is a 26 year-old from the upper crust of Mexican society. She seems to have it all: beauty, wealth, and an aristocratic name. Yet she feels empty. With the death of her adoptive mother, Marta loses her connection to the world against which she had always rebelled. Adding insult to injury, her father remarries only six months after her mother’s death, and her biological mother is a stranger who cannot meet Marta’s expectations. And love? For Marta, love is defined by deceit and disappointment. Glamorous and dazed, Marta runs away from and then returns to her past, inhabiting the outskirts of other people’s worlds.

Lorea Canales weaves a complex web about contemporary Mexico. Becoming Marta grabs you from the start and never lets up, speeding along through its seductive settings: Pacific coast beach houses, Manhattan’s high-end art scene, and exclusive enclaves in Mexico City.

Becoming Marta presents an x-ray of the fluctuating relationships in the highest stratum of today’s Mexico. In the tradition of Thackeray, Easton Ellis, Salvador Novo, and Jorge Ibarguengoitia, it embodies the fears and tensions of upper-class youth, to frame a smart and funny novel.

Featured Titles

New York City Literary Agency

The James Fitzgerald Agency has been creating, editing, nurturing, selling and maintaining books for over a decade. The books are slivers of the culture we all engage and dip in and out of be it in the realm of magic, the West, motorcycle mania, modern music, chemistry or just plain old-fashion good stories. Books after all the rhetoric has been uttered and digested are simply intellectual properties put on paper, made public and sold. They are large kernels of cohesive ideas that educate, entertain and last forever.

Publishing in the 21st Century is a fast moving, ever-changing target that is redefining itself almost daily. As agents we are prepared for the inevitability of diversification, we are locked and loaded and ready to meet these new innovations, forms and procedures, these constant challenges of getting the word out every single day.